Skip to main contentSkip to breadcrumbsSkip to sub navSkip to doormat

Former Research Groups

IMP contracts for academic positions are limited for a certain number of years, after which scientists at any level take the next step in their professional journey at other places. The IMP takes pride in the success of its alumni, including of course its former principal investigators, many of whom are now in leading academic positions at outstanding research institutions.

The IMP is an excellent stepping stone for any academic career. We are proud of the long list of former principal investigators who have moved up in the academic ranks. Their ties with the IMP are at the core of our global network of leading molecular biology research centres.

Former IMP Principal Investigators

The list below is in alphabetic order. Note that this list is a directory of former principal investigators only; we express our appreciation generally to our alumni on a separate page.

Gustav Ammerer

IMP Group Leader 1988-1992


Lisa Ballou

IMP Group Leader 1990-1995


Denise P. Barlow

IMP Group Leader 1988-1996

Passed away in 2017

Hartmut Beug

IMP Senior Scientist 1988-2010

Passed away in 2011

Adrian Bird

IMP Senior Scientist 1987-1990
Professor at Wellcome Trust Centre for Cell Biology, University of Edinburgh

Lab Page

Max Birnstiel

IMP Managing Director 1986-1996

Passed away in 2014

Gerhard Christofori

IMP Group Leader 1994-2001
Professor of Biochemistry at University of Basel - Department of Biomedicine

Lab Page

Carrie Cowan

IMP Group Leader 2006-2013
Director for Education, Santa Fe Institute

Matthew Cotten

IMP Group Leader 1993-1999
Professor in Viral Genomics, University of Glasgow

Lab Page


Barry Dickson

IMP Group Leader 1998-2003
IMP Senior Scientist and Managing Director 2006-2013
Group Leader at Janelia Research Campus

Lab Page

Frank Eisenhaber

IMP Group Leader, 1999-2007
Executive Director of the Bioinformatics Institute (BII), Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR), Singapore

Lab Page

Michael Glotzer

IMP Group Leader 1997-2005
Professor at Department of Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology, The University of Chicago

Lab Page

Christine Hartmann

IMP Group Leader 2002-2012
Professor at the Medical Faculty University Münster, Institute for Experimental Musculoskeletal Medicine, Head of the Department for Bone and Skeletal Research

Lab Page

Katrin Heinze

IMP Staff Scientist 2006-2012
Professor at University of Würzburg

Lab Page

Lukas A. Huber

IMP Group Leader 1996-2002
Director of Cell Biology, Innsbruck Medical University
CSO, Center for Personalized Cancer Medicine
CSO, Austrian Drug Screening Institute

Lab Page

Thomas Jenuwein

IMP Group Leader, Senior Scientist 1993-2008
Director at Max Planck Institute of Immunobiology and Epigenetics

Lab Page

Krystyna Keleman

IMP Staff Scientist 2006-2013
Group Leader at Janelia Farm

Lab Page

Ludger Klein

IMP Group Leader 2002-2007
Professor at Institute for Immunology, Ludwig-Maximilians-University

Lab Page

Jürgen Knoblich

IMP Group Leader 1997-2004
Senior Scientist and Interim Director at Institute of Molecular Biotechnology (IMBA)

Lab Page

Thomas Marlovits

IMP & IMBA Joint Group Leader 2005-2017
Deputy Director, Center for Structural Systems Biology

Lab Page

Kim Nasmyth

IMP Senior Scientist and Managing Director 1988-2005
Senior Scientist and Whitley Professor of Biochemistry at University of Oxford – Department of Biochemistry


Annette Neubüser

IMP Group Leader 1998-2003
Professor at University of Freiburg, Institute for Biology 1

Lab Page

Martin Nicklin

IMP Group Leader 1988-1991
Senior Scientist at University of Sheffield – The Henry Wellcome Institute for Medical Research

Lab Page

Simon Rumpel

IMP Group Leader 2006-2014
Professor at University of Mainz

Lab Page

Tillmann Schuster

IMP Group Leader 1988-1993


Peggy Stolt-Bergner

IMP Fellow 2006-2011
Boehringer Ingelheim, Vienna

Andrew Straw

IMP Fellow 2010-2015
Professor, University of Freiburg

Lab Page

Alipasha Vaziri

IMP Group Leader (joint with MFPL) 2011-2015
Professor, The Rockefeller University

Lab Page

Ernst Wagner

IMP Group Leader 1988-1992
Professor at Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München – Department Pharmazie

Lab Page

Erwin Wagner

IMP Senior Scientist 1988-2008
Deputy Director 1997-2008
Medical University Vienna, Dermatology Department

Lab Page

Andreas Weith

IMP Group Leader 1990-1997

Passed away in 2019

Stefan Westermann

IMP Group Leader 2006-2015
Professor at University Duisburg-Essen (UDE), Germany

Lab Page

Anton Wutz

IMP Group Leader 2001-2009
Professor at ETH Zürich

Lab Page

Martin Zenke

IMP Group Leader 1988-1995
Senior Professor at RWTH Aachen University, Aachen, Germany

Lab Page