Skip to main contentSkip to breadcrumbsSkip to sub navSkip to doormat


Only one nomination may be submitted per department or programme. The nomination must be submitted via this website by an authorised person (typically a department chair or PhD programme manager). 

Profile and eligibility

The International Birnstiel Award targets doctoral students at an advanced stage of their PhD research, ideally with outstanding publications. Nominations of recently graduated students will also be accepted, provided that they graduated within the year prior to the award ceremony (i.e. graduations from 1 January 2018). The awardees will present their thesis work at the 25th Vienna BioCenter PhD Symposium in November 2019.

A nomination will comprise the nominee’s CV, a description of the PhD research project, and one recommendation letter by the student’s supervisor (see below for details).

Nominations 2019

The call for 2019 is now closed. The next call will be advertised here in spring/early summer 2020.

  • Babraham Institute, UK
  • Biological Research Centre, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, HU
  • Biozentrum, University of Basel, CH
  • Boston Children's Hospital, US
  • Cancer Research UK Cambridge Institute, UK
  • Center for Genomic Regulation (CRG), ES
  • Centro de Biologia Molecular Severo Ochoa (CSIC-UAM), ES
  • Columbia University, US
  • Duke University Medical Center, US
  • Deutsches Zentrum für Neurodegenerative Erkrankungen (DZNE), DE
  • European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), DE/Intl.
  • Francis Crick Institute, UK
  • Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, US
  • Friedrich Miescher Institute for Biomedical Research (FMI), CH
  • Gene Center, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, DE
  • German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ), DE
  • Gurdon Institute, UK
  • Helmholtz Center Munich and Ludwig-Maximilians University, DE
  • Humanitas University, IT
  • Imperial College London, UK
  • Institut Curie, FR
  • Institut de Biologie Structurale (IBS), FR
  • Institute for Research in Biomedicine (IRB Barcelona), ES
  • Instituto de Medicina Molecular João Lobo Antunes (IMM), PT
  • Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência, PT
  • Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, US
  • Karolinska Institute, SE
  • Lausanne University Hospital, CH
  • Laval University, CA
  • LBCMCP UMR 5088, FR
  • Leuven University (KU Leuven), BE
  • Lund University, SE
  • Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, DE
  • Max Planck Institute for Developmental Biology, DE
  • Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology, DE
  • Max Planck Institute for Heart and Lung Research, DE
  • Max Planck Institute for Metabolism Research, DE
  • Max Planck Institute for Molecular Genetics, DE
  • Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, DE
  • Max Planck Institute of Immunobiology and Epigenetics, DE
  • Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics, DE
  • MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, UK
  • National Center of Biotechnology (CNB, CSIC), ES
  • Netherlands Cancer Institute (NKI), NL
  • Newcastle University, UK
  • Pompeu Fabra University, ES
  • Princeton University, US
  • Radboud University Medical Center, Royal Society of Edinburgh, UK
  • Research Center of Biotechnology RAS, RU
  • Sorbonne University, FR
  • Spanish National Cancer Research Center (CNIO), ES
  • SRM Institute of Science and Technology, IN
  • Stockholm University, SE
  • Tampere University, FI
  • Tata Institute for Fundamental Research, IN
  • Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, IL
  • Tel Aviv University, IL
  • Telethon Institute of Genetics and Medicine (TIGEM), IT
  • The Rockefeller University, US
  • TU Delft, NL
  • University College London, UK
  • University of Antwerp, BE
  • University of Basel, CH
  • University of Bath, UK
  • University of Bern, CH
  • University of Bonn, DE
  • University of Cambridge, UK
  • University of Dundee, UK
  • University of Edinburgh, UK
  • University of Geneva, CH
  • University of Helsinki, FI
  • University of Manchester, UK
  • University of Manitoba, CA
  • University of Massachusetts Medical School, US
  • University of Oxford, UK
  • University of Sheffield, UK
  • University of Utrecht, NL
  • University of Washington, US
  • University of Western Ontario, CA
  • University of Würzburg, DE
  • University of Zurich, CH
  • Vanderbilt University Medical Center, US
  • VU University Medical Center, NL
  • Wageningen University & Research, NL
  • Walter and Eliza Hall Institute and University of Melbourne, AU
  • Weizmann Institute of Science, IL
  • Wellcome - MRC Cambridge Stem Cell Institute, UK
  • Wellcome Sanger Institute, UK
  • Yale University, US

Nomination materials

Nominations must be submitted online by the department or programme chair. The nomination materials are as follows:

  • Nominator’s name, postal address, email, and telephone number
  • Supervisor’s name, postal address, email, and telephone number
  • Student’s name, postal address, email, and telephone number
  • Student’s graduation date, if applicable

From the student’s supervisor:

  • Letter of recommendation (up to 600 words)

From the student:

  • Student Curriculum Vitae (via form)
  • Summary of thesis research project (up to 1000 words)

All nominees will be notified as to the selection committee’s decision by 30 September 2019.

Questions regarding the International Birnstiel Award should be addressed to Benedikt Mandl, IMP Head of Communications, via email: benedikt.mandl[at]