Skip to main contentSkip to breadcrumbsSkip to sub navSkip to doormat

Acceptance Talks

Recipients of the International Birnstiel Award for Doctoral Research in Molecular Life Sciences present their work, usually in the frame of the award ceremony. These talks are recorded in order to make them available to broader audiences. 

Talks of 2021

Sanne Boersma (Hubrecht Instiutte/Oncode Institute, Marvin Tanenbaum Lab):
"Spying on Viruses: Translation and Replication Dynamics of Single +RNA Viruses"

Fanny Matheis (The Rockefeller University, Daniel Mucida Lab):
"Interactions between microbial, neuronal, and immune cells in the digestive system."

Adi Millman (Weizmann Instiutte of Science, Rotem Sorek Lab):
"Bacterial Retrons Function in Anti-Phage Defense."

Sanne van Neerven (Amsterdam University Medical Centers / Oncode Insitute, Louis Vermeulen):
"Apc-mutant cells act as supercompetitors in intestinal tumour initiation."

Kristina Stapornwongkul (University College London / The Francis Crick Institute, Jean-Paul Vincent Lab):
"Patterning and growth control in vivo by an engineered GFP gradient."

Gregor Weiss (ETH Zurich, Martin Pilhofer Lab):
"Architecture and function of human uromodulin filaments in urinary tract infections."

Talks of 2020

Patrick Chitwood (MRC LMB/University of Cambridge, Ramanujan Hegde Lab):
"Mechanisms of Multipass Membrane Protein Biogenesis"

Vayu Maini Rekdal (Harvard University, Emily Balskus Lab)
"Discovery and Characterization of Gut Microbial Enzymes Involved in Xenobiotic Metabolism"

Anna-Katharina Pfitzner (University of Geneva; AurĂ©lien Roux Lab)
"Sequential polymerisation of ESCRT-III subunits drive membrane deformation and fission"

Fangyu Liu (The Rockefeller University; Lue Chen Lab)
"Structural Studies of the Human Cystic Fibrosis Transmembrane Conductance Regulator (CFTR)"

Eliran Kadosh (Lautenberg Center for Immunology and Cancer Research, Hebrew University of Jerusalem; Ben-Neriah Lab):
"The gut microbiome switches mutant p53 from tumor-suppressive to oncogenic".

Christopher Reinkemeier (EMBL, Edward Lemke Lab):
"Designer membraneless organelles equip eukaryotic cells with a second, orthogonal genetic code".

Talks of 2019

Emily Bayer (Columbia University, Oliver Hobert Lab):
"Sexually dimorphic development of the C. elegans nervous system".

Mohamed El-Brolosy (MPI for Heart and Lung Research, Didier Stanier Lab):
"A novel role for mutant mRNA degradation in maintaining genetic robustness".

Justin Silpe (Princeton University, Bonnie Bassler Lab):
"Quorum sensing bacteria and an eavesdropping phage".