Alumni Groups

Copyright: Daniel Hinterramskogler

Gustav Ammerer 

Former Group Leader 1988-1992

Professor at Max F. Perutz Laboratories, Vienna
Lab Page:

Denise P. Barlow

Former Group Leader 1988-1996

Group Leader at CeMM Research Center for Molecular Medicine, Vienna
Lab Page:

Hartmut Beug

Former Senior Scientist 1988-2010

passed away in 2011




Adrian Bird

Former Senior Scientist 1987-1990

Professor at Wellcome Trust Centre for Cell Biology, University of Edinburgh
Lab Page:

Max Birnstiel

Former Managing Director 1986-1996

passed away in 2014




Gerhard Christofori

Former Group Leader 1994-2001

Professor of Biochemistry at University of Basel - Department of Biomedicine
Lab Page:




Carrie Cowan

Former Group Leader 2006-2013

Associate Dean at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
Web Page:



Barry Dickson

Former Group Leader 1998-2003
Senior Scientist and Managing Director 2006-2013

Group Leader at Janelia Research Campus
Lab Page:

Frank Eisenhaber

Former Group Leader, 1999-2007

Executive Director of the Bioinformatics Institute (BII), Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR), Singapore

Lab Page:,

Michael Glotzer

Former Group Leader 1997-2005

Professor at Department of Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology, The University of Chicago
Lab Page:




Christine Hartmann

Former Group Leader 2002-2012

Professor at the Medical Faculty University Münster, Institute for Experimental Musculoskeletal Medicine, Head of the Dept. Bone and Skeletal Research
Lab Page: 

Copyright: Schmelz-Fotodesign

Katrin Heinze

Former Staff Scientist 2006-2012

Group Leader at Rudolf Virchow Center, University of Würzburg

Lab Page:

Lukas A. Huber

Former Group Leader 1996-2002

Director at Innsbruck Medical University - Biocenter Division Cell Biology
CSO Center for Personalized Cancer Medicine - Oncotyrol, Innsbruck
CSO and Founder of the Austrian Drug Screening Institute – ADSI, Innsbruck
Austrian delegate in the IARC Scientific Council (WHO)
Lab Page:

Thomas Jenuwein

Former Group Leader, Senior Scientist 1993-2008

Director at Max Planck Institute of Immunobiology and Epigenetics
Lab Page:

Krystyna Keleman

Former Staff Scientist 2006-2013

Group Leader at Janelia Farm
Lab Page:




Ludger Klein

Former Group Leader 2002-2007

Professor at Institute for Immunology, Ludwig-Maximilians-University
Lab Page:




Jürgen Knoblich

Former Group Leader 1997-2004

Deputy Director at Institute of Molecular Biotechnology
Lab Page:




Kim Nasymth

Former Senior Scientist and Managing Director 1988-2003

Senior Scientist at University of Oxford - Department of Biochemistry
Lab Page:




Copyright: Klaus Polkowski

Annette Neubüser

Former Group Leader 1998-2003

Professor at University of Freiburg, Institute for Biology 1
Lab Page:



Martin Nicklin

Former Group Leader 1988-1991

Senior Scientist at University of Sheffield - The Henry Wellcome Institute for Medical Research
Lab Page:



Simon Rumpel

Former Group Leader 2006-2014

Professor at University of Mainz
Lab Page: 



Peggy Stolt-Bergner

Former Fellow 2006-2011

Core Facility Head and Deputy Director at Campus Science Support Facilities, Vienna
Lab Page:



Ernst Wagner

Former Group Leader 1988-1994

Professor at Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München - Department Pharmazie
Lab Page:

Erwin Wagner

Former Senior Scientist 1988-2008
Deputy Director 1997-2008

Vice director at Spanish National Cancer Research Centre (CNIO) and Director of the Cancer Cell Biology Program
Lab Page:

Andreas Weith

Former Group Leader 1990-1997





Stefan Westermann

Former Group Leader 2006-2015

Professor at University Duisburg-Essen (UDE), Germany

Anton Wutz

Former Group Leader 2001-2009

Professor at ETH Zürich
Lab Page:

Martin Zenke

Former Group Leader 1988-1995

Professor and Director, Institute for Biomedical Engineering, Department of Cell Biology, RWTH Aachen University, Aachen, Germany
Lab Page: